My Material Life

A Gift From The Lonely Doll by Dare Wright

Source: A Gift From The Lonely Doll, Dare Wright

Source: A Gift From The Lonely Doll, Dare Wright

Source: A Gift From The Lonely Doll, Dare Wright

Are you familiar with the Lonely Doll series by Dare Wright?  I think this one (A Gift From The Lonely Doll, 1966) might be my favorite.  The photos are so beautiful.  Look at the lighting in the middle photo; I’m crazy about that one.  And then there’s that knitting.  I think I’m going to read this to the kids at today’s last Sticks & Strings knitting class session.  I’ve put together a short reading list for them that includes this book as well as …

  • Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen (already read to the kids by my co-teacher who also happens to be our school librarian)
  • Homer Price (Story IV, Mystery Yarn) by Robert McCloskey
  • The Red Wolf by Margaret Shannon
  • Wallace and Gromit – A Close Shave (This isn’t a book actually; it’s a movie in which Wallace falls for Wendolene Ramsbottom, yarn shop owner.)

I think most of these suggestions came from this book, but thank you to Janice for the The Red Wolf suggestion.  I’m going to try to pick up a copy of the Wallace and Grommit DVD at the library today.  I have seen it before and it’s very funny and very British and of course, it features yarn and a yarn shop (or wool shop as they call it)!  And I was so happy to see that Homer Price title because I really remember enjoying Homer Price when I was a kid, especially that story about the donuts.

But back to Dare Wright and her books – you can learn more about them here.  And one more link:  click here to see an awesome photo from the 1920s of a child looking into a shop window with Lenci dolls (the type of doll Dare Wright photographed for the Lonely Doll – also known as Edith – series).

Leave a comment