My Material Life

Jane Brody’s Favorite Lentil Soup

This is my favorite too. It comes from the second cookbook I purchased for myself as a young adult, Jane Brody’s Good Food Book (the first was The Joy of Cooking). I think what makes this so delicious is the addition of a little white wine. I made this last night for my knitting friends and it was fun to look through the book again. Lots of recipes I’d still like to try. My edition was published in 1987.

My Favorite Lentil Soup from Jane Brody’s Good Food Book

  • 2 T olive or vegetable oil
  • 2 c chopped onions
  • 3 carrots, coarsely grated
  • 3/4 t marjoram, crumbled
  • 3/4 t thyme leaves, crumbled
  • 1 28-oz can tomatoes with their juice, coarsely chopped
  • 7 c broth (beef, chicken, or vegetable)*
  • 1 1/2 c dried lentils, rinsed and picked over
  • 1/2 t salt
  • freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • 6 oz dry white wine
  • 1/3 c chopped fresh parsley or 2 T dried parsley flakes
  • 4 oz Cheddar, grated
  1. Heat the oil in a large saucepan, and saute the onions, carrots, marjoram, and thyme, stirring the vegetables for about 5 minutes.
  2. Add the tomatoes, broth, and lentils.  Bring the soup to a boil, reduce the heat, cover the pan, and simmer the soup for about 1 hour or until the lentils are tender.
  3. Add the salt, pepper, wine, and parsley, and simmer the soup for a few minutes.  Serve with cheese sprinkled on each portion.

* In place of homemade broth, you can use 3 bouillon cubes with 7 cups of water or 3 1/2 cups of canned broth and 3 1/2 cups of water.

Save

Save

8 comments

  1. Pingback: CLASSIC NORWICH RECIPIES | Twins Together

  2. Karen Lyon

    I love this recipe too….and this cookbook, I have used my copy so much it is falling apart. This soup has been a hit every time I make it. My Dad, who wasn’t someone who tried new foods a lot ate two big bowls when I made it for my parents years ago. Since I know a lot of people who are vegetarian, this is something Inwill make often at a fall or winter potluck type event.

  3. OK, you asked! I have made lots of Jane Brody recipes, and some of my faves are the curried cream of broccoli soup, company beans and rice, and what I think is called the crunchy barley salad, which features barley and radishes. Odd sounding combo but tasty. I also like the lentil soup you like, and make it often. Last but not least, there’s a very easy dish called colcannon, which is basically mashed potatoes, cabbage, onions and cheese, all baked up. As you can see, I like my carbs!

  4. Cynthia Koller

    I love her Mexican Zucchini Soup from that book and there is a Zucchini Bread that is also terrific. I bought that way back in my college days and it is one of my most favorite cookbooks!

Leave a Reply

