My Material Life

Frosting Sandwich

I made these sandwiches for a Brownie meeting snack yesterday because the theme of the meeting was Girl Scout traditions.  This is the only snack I can remember eating at the Girl Scout meetings of my youth many years ago.  Like the marshmallow pastry, it has lived on in my imagination all this time.  The sandwich is made of buttercream frosting and Trader Joe’s Honey Graham Crackers.  It did not disappoint.  The creamy and sweet frosting filling with the mildly sweet crunch of the cracker is a match made in Heaven.  I do remember dipping into a can of frosting back in the 70s, but I made mine using the recipe on the back of the C&H Powdered Sugar box.  I’ve tried a number of buttercream recipes, and I used to think it was critical to sift the sugar first, but then I discovered that just beating the heck out of the frosting seemed to be the most important thing.  So I gave up on sifting and went to back to the C&H box.

I made this sign for my IKEA picture frame/menu stand.  The other moms seem to get a kick out of it.  At least they haven’t made fun of me for it to my face.  Well I have to use it for something.  What’s so funny is, I’ve been two dates ahead all week and I just now realized that yesterday was not the 20th.

One comment

Leave a Reply

