My Material Life

Meet Stella

WordPress tells me that it is My Material Life’s seventh anniversary. I suppose it would be fitting to recognize the occasion with a blog post, so let me introduce you to our newest family member, Stella. After all she’s the reason I haven’t posted anything lately (and just when I thought I was getting back to some kind of more regular project/blogging roll). There are periods in life when our time is not our own and a new puppy is one of the better of these. But the mere fact that I can sit and write this post now means things must be getting better.

Stella came from a Dachshund rescue organization after Samantha found one of Stella’s litter mates on Petfinder. Her mother is a dachshund and her father, well, her father may be one of three different dogs. She is a dear doggie (despite the way she smells, her desire to eat dangerous things, and her inability to stop chasing the cat) and we grow more fond of her every day.

The cat was a big issue for us. Stumpy turns 17 next month. He’s had rule of the house for most of his life. This was a hard thing to do to him, but I always thought Samantha should have a dog. And it just came down to if not now, when?

The funny thing is, Stella’s a lot like Stumpy. She loves to lie in the sun …

and snuggle up against a warm human.

This incident gives me hope that they may become friends at some point, even when Stella is awake.

We’re very happy for this girl and her dog.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

11 comments

  1. Jo Ann

    Stella is adorable. I’m sure Samantha must be so happy to have such a special friend. Now she has two special friends…Stella and Stumpy!

  2. If this isn’t the most precious thing! Stella, Stumpy and Samantha. The photos captured the story so perfectly. All I could do was smile at your expanded family. Here’s to the bonding of new sisters Stella and Stumpy!

Leave a Reply

