My Material Life

Lemon & Rosemary Refrigerator Cookies

I got this recipe from my sister. It comes from this wonderful book she has (from the early 90s I think) called Betty Crocker’s Ultimate Cookie Book. She made them when we went to visit her last summer and I could not stop eating them. For one thing, the lemon and rosemary flavors are delicious together and for another, these cookies are not too sweet. Almost, but not quite a savory cookie if you can imagine that. In addition, these are refrigerator cookies and for some reason I get a sense of well-being from having a roll of cookie dough in the fridge. The recipe makes enough to create two cookie dough logs. Today I baked one to give as a gift to our neighbor who fed our cat this week. I’ll bake the other one for us later today or tomorrow.

IMG_7979-1

If you want to get fancy you can press some rosemary into your cookies like they do in the book. I’m not sure this was effective in my case, but it’s always fun when you get a chance to incorporate “design” into your cookies, right?

Lemon & Rosemary Refrigerator Cookies (from Betty Crocker’s Ultimate Cookie Book)

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 tablespoon grated lemon peel
  • 1 teaspoon finely chopped fresh rosemary or 1/4 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon grated lemon peel

Mix 1 cup sugar, butter, 1 tablespoon lemon peel, the rosemary and eggs in large bowl. Stir in flour, baking soda and salt. Shape dough into roll, 12″ long. (I divide dough in half and make two rolls). Wrap and refrigerate 2 hours or until firm.

Heat oven to 375Ā°. Mix 3 tablespoons sugar with 1 teaspoon lemon peel. Roll dough in sugar mixture to coat. Cut into 1/4″ slices. Place on ungreased cookie sheet and bake 10 to 12 minutes or until edges are light brown. Immediately remove from cookie sheet. Makes about 4 dozen cookies.

These would be lovely accompanied by a glass of chilled white wine or iced tea.

IMG_8011

Yum!

10 comments

  1. This is perfect! I started growing rosemary in my garden this year and really had no idea what to make with it. Hubby likes cookies when they aren’t too sweet so these should be perfect. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Kathie

    Colleen, I haven’t made these since your visit last year! So guess what I’m doing today? They are a perfect, light, summer afternoon cookie. Think I’ll take some to Janice’s tomorrow for the Fourth. Happy (early) Birthday to D!

Leave a Reply

