My Material Life

Easy Foiled Eggs For Easter

mml easter egg tree

Did you know that in Germany and Austria there is a tradition of decorating trees and bushes with eggs for Easter?

TOPSHOTS Volker Kraft decorates his apple tree with Easter eggs on March 25, 2014 in Saalfeld, eastern Germany. More than 10.000 eggs hang on the tree, attracting thousands of spectators during Easter time. AFP PHOTO / DPA / MICHAEL REICHEL / GERMANY OUTMICHAEL REICHEL/AFP/Getty Images ORG XMIT:

TOPSHOTS Volker Kraft decorates his apple tree with Easter eggs on March 25, 2014 in Saalfeld, eastern Germany. More than 10.000 eggs hang on the tree, attracting thousands of spectators during Easter time. AFP PHOTO / DPA / MICHAEL REICHEL / GERMANY OUTMICHAEL REICHEL/AFP/Getty Images ORG XMIT:

Above you can see perhaps the most famous (and extreme) example of the Easter egg tree. This tree was decorated for many years, but according to Wikipedia, 2015 was the last opportunity to see it. When I saw a smaller tree on the show Euromaxx decorated in a much simpler way, I knew I had to try it myself. So I picked up some wooden eggs from a craft shop and planned to paint them … someday.

IMG_6421

This year I was looking over some Easter craft clippings I’d saved when I saw some beautifully colored metal-leafed eggs in a Martha Stewart Living spread. Colored metal leaf is something you can order online, but you are unlikely to find it in a local craft shop, so that was out for me this year. But I remembered some colored foil I had to wrap candy and wouldn’t you know, it worked perfectly. No mess, no fuss, a bit showier than the subtle blues and pinks of the Martha Stewart metal-leafed eggs, but I figured that was OK for tree eggs.

IMG_6354

Not that you have to hang these in a tree. You could display them in a bowl.

I used 6″ square pieces of foil and clipped the corners to remove excess foil, resulting in a flying cross kind of shape. Then I set an egg in the middle of each piece of foil and smoothed the foil onto the egg. I left an open space on the top of each egg so I could adhere a clear bead to the top of it for hanging using Fabri-Tac. So fast, so easy, so flexible, as the foil adheres with nothing but pressure. The only problem is that these will likely give you a craving for chocolate.

IMG_6416

Leave a Reply

