My Material Life

Bath Bomb Birthday

Have you ever been to a Lush store? Lush Fresh Handmade Cosmetics is very popular with the tweens I know. It has an interesting history beginning in England in the late 70s and including an important connection with Anita Roddick’s Body Shop in the 80s. Lush bath bombs are a favorite of Samantha’s, so we decided to try making some of our own at her bath and beauty themed party last Saturday.

Samantha found the recipe in a video on the Hellomaphie YouTube channel. It worked very well. You’ll find it in writing at the end of this post, but do watch the video here for a tutorial and more inspiration. We used plastic Easter eggs from Target as our molds. We had a hard time getting an entire egg to hold together, so we just used one half of an egg at a time and that worked pretty well. If I’d been more organized I would have looked for molds online; they’re very hard to find in local stores. The rest of the things you need should be easy to find – with the exception of citric acid. The only place I could find it was at one our larger Whole Foods stores and I cleaned them out of all they had. We embellished our eggs with dried lavender, body glitter, and large salt crystals that Samantha dyed with food coloring.

Look who made a party appearance in a custom hat made just for her. All it took was a template for a party hat (easy to find online), a sheet of decorative paper from Michaels, and piece of crepe paper streamer that I gathered using my sewing machine and then glued to the paper hat. There was only one other thing I made for the front of the house …

mml recycled mylar balloon tassels

These are the remains of mylar balloons from previous celebrations that I turned into tassels and hung from a cord. I think I’ll write about this in a separate post. In the meantime here’s that bath bomb recipe.

Bath Bombs (recipe from Hellomaphie)

This amount would have filled about 4 of those eggs (both sides). In a large bowl whisk together 1 cup baking soda, 1/2 cup Epsom salts, 1/2 cup citric acid and 1/2 cup cornstarch. Add 2 tablespoons coconut oil* and mix with clean hands. Use a spray bottle to add 1 tablespoon or more of water, continuing to mist mixture with water and mix with hands until it clumps together in your hand like wet sand. If desired add several drops of essential oil and food coloring. Pack your molds, first adding any special embellishment. Let mixture set in mold for about a minute and carefully unmold (try tapping the plastic mold with a spoon to get it to release the bath bomb if need be) and allow to air dry and harden.

*I was able to find a coconut oil that stays in liquid form at Target.

 

2 comments

  1. I\’ve never actually been in a lush shop, I’m one of those people who has to cross the street just to avoid the overpowering stench they give off. I’m sure your homemade one’s smelled much nicer!

    ( I once had to rapidly regift some lush soaps someone gave me because just the stink of half a dozen of their soaps filled the house)

Leave a Reply

