My Material Life

My Holiday Workshop: Gold-Dipped Redwood Cones

Hello out there. Christmas is right around the corner now, isn’t it? I thought I would be so organized this year. If only I had a butler and some other household staff I’m sure I’d feel more ready for the holidays. The one thing I have managed to do is pick up some redwood cones from the backyard and dip them in a small jar of liquid gold leaf that I picked up at Michaels.

The beauty of the redwood cone is that it is so petite and not only that, it comes attached to its own dipping stick! Once you snip off the dipping stick, you can attach a bead and jump ring to the top of the cone with some Fabri-Tac or hot glue. This transforms the cone into a little piece of jewelry that you can hang on a tree, on a package, around your neck or maybe even on your ears.

I splurged on some gold-plated jump rings and beads; they were worth it. Thank goodness for those Michaels coupons.

IMG_4238

These went to friends I met for lunch today. They are packaged in small plastic treat bags that I folded and fastened with gold washi tape. I really need to get the house cleaned up, but with any luck I’ll have some more holiday workshop projects to share soon.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

