My Material Life

A Pin Cushion, A Betsy Ross Book & Good News for Anglophiles

IMG_0996

Hello again dear reader. I’m still here, I just haven’t been making things lately. But as it’s still the 4th of July I thought I’d share this little hand sewn pin cushion from May. This is a project I put together for the fifth grade students at Samantha’s school for their Colonial Day. We needed a Betsy Ross-inspired sewing activity, so I paired an image of the flag we associate with Betsy with a red, white and blue plaid backing.

IMG_0990

I used Spoonflower to have the flag image printed on cotton fabric. Have you ever used Spoonflower? I’m looking forward to trying it again with a more creative project. The lead time is speedy and the prices are very reasonable. I’m not sure how they do it!

IMG_1005 I was excited to volunteer for this project because I discovered Marla Miller’s book about Betsy Ross in a review a few years ago. In the review there was a quote from the book about “the pleasure taken in the simple comforts of beautiful and functional things made by capable hands“. How could I not want to read a book with a theme like that?

I loved reading about Betsy’s long life and her work in the upholstery trade. It took me a while to remember that she wouldn’t have had the benefit of a sewing machine. The book also made me think about what it might have been like to live through the Revolutionary War. I think of myself as a bit of an Anglophile; would I have wanted to part ways with England? It certainly wouldn’t have been easy to sail against that tide.

Source: Acorn TV

Source: Acorn TV

So what’s the good news? Are you familiar with Acorn TV? It’s kind of like Netflix for Anglophiles. If, like me, you are a fan of David Suchet as Poirot or Rosemary and Thyme or Doc Martin, you’ve got to look into Acorn. Right now I’m watching this Rosamunde Pilcher miniseries called Shades of Love. It’s a bit melodramatic, but it’s fun and you can’t beat the Scottish scenery.

mml firework

Leave a Reply

