My Material Life

A Visit to Emily Joubert

IMG_9866

It’s interesting that for all the money that flows through this area known as Silicon Valley, there’s not much that’s unique in the world of retail around here. So when I read about this place in Woodside, I knew I’d have to visit it. I made it there yesterday with two friends I used to work with who were eager to check it out too.

IMG_9867

I loved the outdoor area the most. It’s amazing what a big old tree, some pea gravel, potted plants and colorful garden furniture will do for an outdoor space, isn’t it? The string lights and hanging art don’t hurt either. You can’t tell from the photo, but beyond the umbrella there was a window where they were serving Stumptown Coffee from Portland (suggested donation of $4). I must admit that I read that this is the only place where you can get Stumptown Coffee around here and though I don’t know why that should matter to me a whit, I will say it was one of the reasons I wanted to visit!

IMG_9873

Woodside is a horsey town, so this guy (or gal) fits right in.

IMG_9874

Lots of pretty things inside the shop. I would wear one of these pj tops with jeans or shorts even though Samantha would think I was crazy for sure. My favorite things in the shop were some large rings made from seashells. I don’t know why I didn’t take a picture. And they were so well-priced at $12 each, that I don’t know why I didn’t purchase one. So much for helping an independent retailer, although one of my friends did make a nice purchase, so I guess that’s not too bad.

After we visited the shop we enjoyed lunch at The Village Pub (a fancy pub, indeed). I had the crispy chicken salad; it’s a work of art, isn’t it? We loved the little wooden salt and pepper cellars on the table.

Anyway, do make a stop at Emily Joubert if you find yourself in the area. I love the story behind it.

Leave a Reply

