My Material Life

Dear Easter Bunny

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Dear Easter Bunny,

How are you? I am fine. I know this week must be very busy for you, so I’ll try not to take too much of your time. The thing is, it’s been an awfully long time since I had an Easter basket of my very own and I was wondering if you might be able to squeeze me in again this year. If it makes things any easier, I can tell you exactly what things I’d like and where you can find them.

Holidays can be so nostalgic – this first item takes me right back to Easter bonnets and white gloves and pretty dresses with petticoats from my olden days. I received a sample of these Jordan almonds with the candied violets and roses I ordered for Valentine’s Day from Histoire Sucrée in France. They call them dragées. They are delicious and pretty and so very special. How I would love to find these beautiful pastel sweeties in my basket!

I must admit this next thing is what got me thinking about an Easter basket for myself in the first place. At $18 for a mini bottle (Cost Plus World Market) it’s a pricey request, but I’m guessing you get volume discounts. If this is the case please don’t feel you need to stop at one bottle.

More candy would certainly be nice. I’d love a one pound box of See’s Bridge Mix. Those little nuggets of chocolate and whatever it is they put inside them are just about my favorite candy. But nothing says Easter like the See’s coconut bon-bon covered with pink icing. Three of them would be just lovely.

Now for the non-food items, I just discovered this old book on edible flowers at the Bible of British Taste blog. I’m interested in the subject as well as the illustrations. I bet you can find me an old copy on Amazon. Please find one that is at least in very good condition.

I’m not sure why I associate Easter with new socks, but I like these a lot. Do you or your helpers knit? I’m guessing you have helpers like Santa? I suppose that’s still a lot to ask with Easter so near. How about you get me the yarn and I’ll knit them myself? Two balls ought to do it.

Now I think there should be something that smells nice in my basket, don’t you? I just love this Library of Flowers hand cream. I love the name, I love the pretty packaging and I love the floral scent. Yes, I think this hand cream would be just right.

Some entertainment would be nice. You know a movie I like to watch at Easter time (even though it’s not an Easter movie) is Harvey. Have you seen it? It’s a great old Jimmy Stewart film. I think you’d like it. Perhaps after Easter is over you can take some time to lie around and watch an old movie or two. I hope you will; you’ll need the rest I’m sure.

We’re getting very close to the end of the list now, just a couple more things. I think something sparkly in my basket would be nice, don’t you? I was trying to find a vintage butterfly brooch or something that I could recommend to you, but nothing caught my fancy. Let’s just keep it simple, like this cocktail ring from Chloe + Isabel.

Lastly, I see Cost Plus World Market has a ceramic five-egg holder complete with bunny. That would be such a nice addition to my Easter table. And it’s not at all expensive.

Thank you dear, dear Easter Bunny. I am so hoping you can accommodate this little request of mine. Wishing you and your helpers all the best this week!

With fond regards,

Colleen

p.s. Have I ever told you how much I love Easter? You can see some of my favorite Easter ideas here.

Leave a Reply

