My Material Life

Roast Chicken on Fresh Greens with Pan Juices & Lemon

mml chicken on greens

I clipped this idea from the San Francisco Chronicle years ago. I think it was included in a list of things to do with lemons or something like that. I can’t put my hands on that clipping right now, but it doesn’t matter. This isn’t a recipe with specific amounts of ingredients. It’s more of a delicious guideline.

mml lemon, etc

What you do is toss some baby greens (they don’t all have to be hard-core kinds of greens; a spring mix will do, but something with a little bite like arugula is nice to include) with some chopped herbs (rosemary) and aromatics (shallots). You top that with slices of roast chicken. Then you splash the whole thing with some pan juices from the chicken and a good squeeze or two from the lemon. That’s it. You need to eat it right away – you don’t want to let the pan juices get cold. They should wilt the greens just a little bit. Oh my goodness. It will be worth it to roast your own chicken for this. That sounds odd, but you know what I mean. You won’t get those pan juices from a rotisserie chicken from the market. When I roast a chicken (rarely anymore) I just pat it dry and rub some olive oil, salt, pepper and paprika on it before I put it in the oven. You don’t need to get any fancier than that.

I once served this dish with cheese straws that I made for a bon voyage lunch for my dad who was about to take off for his first and only trip to France with a woman who was not my mother (she’d already passed away). Odd to think about that now. But I can’t help but remember this dish.

Leave a Reply

