My Material Life

Make Your Own Moving Blanket

I’ve always loved moving blankets. They’re like industrial-grade quilts, aren’t they? Heavier fabric, no piecing and simple quilting patterns. I certainly don’t recommend them for snuggling under, but they are wonderful for sitting on – maybe as a cover for a dirty or worn sofa or even on the floor for an indoor picnic. You could even use one on a table. They are good for so much more than moving. Especially if you make them yourself. Think of the possibilities! Solids, stripes, toiles, florals – you name it.

IMG_6403

This one is made from two canvas-weight IKEA fabrics. I purchased the tree a couple of years ago and asked my sister to buy me three yards of the other fabric (Helsinge) at her local IKEA some time later. I’m glad I thought to get extra (I only needed two yards for the quilt itself) because I ended up using 2-1/2″ strips of the Helsinge backing (cut selvedge to selvedge) to make the quilt binding. The only other things I needed for the project were curved safety pins, low-loft batting and size 14 Universal quilting needles for my machine. For some reason I never thought I could quilt something this large on my home sewing machine before; I’m glad I was wrong.

I washed my fabric (not the batting) and found a place large enough to lay my quilt layers out on the floor – backing right side facing the floor first, then batting, then front right side facing the ceiling. I used my curved safety pins to baste the pieces together and trimmed my excess batting around the edges.

I actually turned the whole thing over before I pinned the layers together too much because I realized I needed to see what was happening with my stripes on the backing. Then I had some company; he thinks every blanket I make is for him.

mml moving blanket roll

Rolled up and ready for my machine.

IMG_6463

I quilted from the center out and used the lines printed on my fabric as my guide.

IMG_6471

I bound the quilt using the directions in my Denyse Schmidt Quilts book. Just standard procedure; you can find these directions in any quilting book or online.

IMG_6470

I pinned my binding (2-1/2 inch strips that were joined with stitching on the bias – not cut on the bias – and folded in half) to the quilted piece on the front. I waited to trim uneven edges until after I stitched the binding on because I didn’t want to risk my machine quilting stitches coming undone if I needed to trim into them. To finish the binding you fold it over to the back and slip stitch it in place. This is the only tedious and time-consuming part of the project. It’s not easy to put your needle through the thickness of your quilt and your binding, but the results were so worth the effort. I’m kind of in love with this blanket.

mml moving blanket edge

Leave a Reply

