My Material Life

Wearing Your Blanket: Chic Outerwear or High Style Snuggie?

mml blanket jacket

I’m thinking maybe Snuggie is the answer for me (I’m wearing this now), but I don’t mind. I had a lot of fun making this BurdaStyle jacket yesterday from a blanket I bought at Target a couple of years ago. It’s very comfortable, and I really love its sleeves.

I knew I wanted to wear the blanket one way or another when I bought it. I thought I might turn it into a Bonnie Cashin designed coat from an old Threads magazine (you can read more about that in this post), but when I got the BurdaStyle email showing this diamond jacket, well, it just seemed the right way to go. It’s hard to argue with only one pattern piece.

You don’t have to use a blanket to make this jacket of course, but if you already have one that you think would look good on you or if you should now happen upon one, this is an easy way to make it wearable. And to help keep your heating bills down this winter.

To get the cutting diagram and instructions, you’ll need to click on the link above for the jacket and pay $1.99 to download them. The thing about Burda is that their instructions aren’t always clear. It took me a while to figure out the simple diagram shown below. I added the words, top and armhole seam marks, to hopefully make it easier for you to see how it goes together.

mml blanket jacket diagrams

Next, I used an old sheet to make up a muslin of the jacket. I needed to know how this thing went together and if it would fit before I cut up my blanket. I’m so glad I did. I decided to take 11″ off the length of my jacket. Then I converted the centimeter measurements to inches, added my seam allowances (Burda does not do this for you) and made the diagram below which Burda refers to as drafting your own.

mml blanket jacket cutting dimensions

Finishing your raw edges is one of the biggest pieces of sewing the jacket requires. I debated the best way to do this and finally decided to keep it simple with a machine overedge stitch that I kept long and wide.

IMG_6136

A quick press with the iron took care of the ruffles this created on my fabric edge.

IMG_6140

Sewing it together is a breeze once you figure out what you’re doing. If you try it, do let me know. I’d love to see it in a different fabric. The blanket I used is so drapey. Could be quite different sewn up in a stiffer fabric.

 

2 comments

  1. Kathie

    So elegant, and so comfortable as well! Perfect for Tahoe! Colleen, You look like a model in these photos! I must get the name of your photographer! Maybe she can take some photos of us this weekend!

Leave a Reply

