My Material Life

Dinner Idea: Oven-Baked Pasta

mml oven pasta

This dish is based on a recipe that I clipped from an Anchor Hocking add years ago.  It’s easy to make, ready in about an hour, homey and tasty.  It makes your kitchen smell good too.

What I love about this recipe is the sauce.  You use equal parts marinara and gravy or cream of chicken soup or even cream of mushroom soup if you are vegetarian.  This mellows the tomato flavor and adds an earthy or meaty savoriness to the dish.

I used the Barilla Plus pasta for this last night.  It works well and I like anything that makes me think I’m getting more Omega-3, even if it is plant-based.

Oven-Baked Pasta

  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled and crushed
  • 1 1/4 c marinara sauce
  • 1 1/4 c turkey gravy (Cream of chicken soup also works well.)
  • 1/2 c whole milk
  • 1/4 c Parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1 t dried oregano
  • 1/2 t dried rosemary
  • black pepper to taste
  • 3/4 penne (or similar) pasta
  • 1 c Mozzarella or Swiss cheese, grated

Bring water to a boil for pasta. Heat pan – I used my Dutch oven so I could bake the pasta in it as well – and add oil, turkey and garlic.  Saute until meat is cooked and drain excess fat.  Add all the remaining ingredients except the pasta and the Mozzarella or Swiss cheese.  Simmer the sauce while you cook the pasta.  Drain the pasta and mix it with the sauce. Sprinkle cheese on top of pasta and bake uncovered in a 350 oven for 25 minutes.

mml fridge

I was really excited to think of my Dutch oven this time.  I usually pour the pasta into my Anchor Hocking (no, don’t tell them, but it’s a Pyrex) glass casserole dish before I bake it, but this gave me one less thing to wash.  I hate washing up, don’t you?  Then when I saw how much pasta was left (this recipe easily feeds six or more), I just decided to let the whole thing cool down a bit and into the fridge it went.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

