My Material Life

Toilet Paper Roll Knitting Idea #11: Striped Slipcover for a Pole

This is a great spool knitting project for spiffing up the poles in your life – lamp poles, table legs, etc.  And this particular spool knitter uses narrower craft sticks that can take your knitting to new levels of tightness.  They are so narrow, however, and I’ve placed them so close together that the duct tape surrounding them does not actually adhere to the toilet paper tube.  So I put the rubber bands I used to allow me to position my sticks on the tube from the outset (too large so I knotted them) back on top of the duct tape.  Just that extra compression at the top and the bottom keeps the round of sticks in place.  Be aware too that some of these narrower sticks may require a little sanding with a nail file.  But other than that they work great and make for a nice hands-only spool knitting experience.

The dress form whose pole I’m covering is actually a kids’ clothes stand from IKEA called Näpen.  You can purchase a fabric torso-shaped cover for it that goes by the same name.  It comes in purple and turquoise.  The purple cover is larger than the turquoise one.

I used some cotton yarns from my stash and made sure to incorporate white stripes since I didn’t plan to cover the stand’s white base.  Of course, what made this project work is that the stand comes apart; you won’t be able to slipcover a pole with a tube if you can’t get direct access to the pole.  I have an IKEA lamp whose pole I’d like to cover with a narrower tube of spool knitting, but I haven’t investigated whether I can take it apart to get access yet.  Fingers crossed I can.

To make a striped tube, you simply need to change colors now and then or use a self-striping yarn.  You will need to tie the yarns together where you make the change.  At least you don’t need to weave in those ends as they will be on the inside.

IMG_4632

When I had the length I needed, I bound off my knitting using the instructions in this post.  I wove in the tails on both ends of my tube and wove a contrasting piece of yarn around the top of my cast-on edge.  I placed the tube on the pole with the bound-off edge at the bottom and the cast-on edge at the top.  The pole is adjustable and there is a narrower shaft that extends up through the torso.  Since this narrower pole doesn’t show under the purple cover I didn’t need to cover it; that’s a good thing.  Where these poles meet is where I tightened and tied the contrast yarn that I’d woven through the top of the tube.

For additional spool knitting posts and projects, please click here.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

