My Material Life

More Teapots & Cosies

We’ve been under the weather during the last couple of weeks, but I haven’t been idle.  I am this close to sharing a small needlepoint malachite project with you, but in the meantime, here’s another cozy I made for a small teapot using a 5″ embroidery hoop and those short popsicle sticks that I mentioned in my last tea cozy post.  I created stripes this time and used two strands of a 100% organic cotton called Sprout from Classic Elite Yarns.

I made this for a tea-drinking friend’s birthday.  I went with another button-down cozy top, but I played with a pom-pom too, just to see what it would look like.  And even though the pom-pom wasn’t part of the cozy, I threw it in the gift box because it was festive.  In the end, I couldn’t attend the birthday girl’s special lunch, but this gift was from two of us and when I ran into my “co-gifter” yesterday she said the group at lunch had quite a time trying to figure out what to do with the pom-pom.  Apparently, one of the gals at the lunch (who happens to be British) suggested that the pom-pom should be hung (I left a loop on it) from the spout to catch the drips.  This was what my birthday friend went with.  I must say it’s a very intriguing idea.  I am always wishing I had something to catch the drips from my coffee pot or a bottle of red wine.

A teapot and a homemade cozy (knit or sewn) isn’t a half-bad gift idea for a tea drinker.  Your mother, your grandmother, your sister or your aunt might love one.  I’m not sure about the men in your life, but maybe.  For my friend’s birthday I went in search of a simple little teapot like the one shown above.  I adore this pot; I found it at Cost Plus when I was just starting out on my own.  I would never willingly part with it even though I am one of those microwave tea (heat water in mug in microwave, add tea bag) makers, and this pot rarely sees the light of day.  Gosh it’s hard to find one like it now, though.  So I was very happy and surprised to find the Chantal small classic teapot at Cook’s Junction in Los Altos (white pot shown in top photo gallery).  You can find it here.  It’s just what I had in mind for my friend; a great little pot.

This is a dream knit cozy of mine.  I found it in Rowan’s Classic Home, Book Five.  The Terrific Tea Cosy pattern is by Martin Storey; you can find it on Ravelry.  It reminds me of a sea urchin.  I’m crazy about the colors, the construction, the pearls(!)  I’m not sure about that egg cozy though.  That might be carrying things a bit too far, but then I don’t eat my eggs that way.  Here’s both a high-end and a low-end white pot (both bigger than my friend’s little pot) you could use for a haute couture cozy such as this:

As I write this, the Arzberg is on sale.  Click here to see it and click here to see the Bed, Bath & Beyond Everyday White®.

2 comments

  1. anne Palmer Peterson

    Dear Colleen, The tea pot, the tea cosy, and the tea pot, are just beautiful. 🙂 You are such a talented and creatively gifted lady! Love your blog, your arts and ideas, your writing, and you. Cheers and carry on! 🙂 xoxo anne

Leave a Reply

