My Material Life

Crepes To Go

IMG_2456

Did you know that yesterday was Pancake Day?  Fat Tuesday, Shrove Tuesday, Pancake Day.  I learned about Pancake Day last year, so I was ready for it yesterday.  We celebrated with some crepes because Samantha has been talking about crepes ever since a friend’s mom served them at a recent after school play date.  I have to say that I wrangled myself an invitation to enjoy those crepes too once I learned that they were part of the plan (one should never underestimate the power of expressing one’s sincere enthusiasm).  In fact I heard that this same mom sent crepes for school lunch the other day, so I had to ask how she did so because I never would have thought of that.  Not that I would ever think of making crepes for a school lunch, but I really think that they just roll off the pan for this particular mom who is a really lovely person by the way.

IMG_2438b

Anyway, here’s what I did last night.  I pulled out my Lou Seibert Pappas Crepes book that my mother-in-law passed along to me (sincere enthusiasm again) and used this recipe to make a batch of savory crepes.  Even though there are delicious-looking fillings in the book, I decided to try my hand at devising my own by combining three things that I love together even when they are not enveloped in a crepe:  olive oil-mashed Yukon Gold potatoes, red Swiss chard, and some left-over garlic and herb chicken sausage.  I added a bit of grated Jarlsberg to the mix, put the crepes together and warmed then in a 350° oven for something like twenty minutes.  They were good, but I think savory crepes really cry out for some kind of sauce, don’t you?

Then I started thinking about what I would send with Samantha for lunch today and I realized it would have to be left-over crepes.  I had refrigerated some that weren’t filled.  But how?  Logistically speaking, I mean.  Luckily I remembered my favorite crepe fold from the book, the envelope.  Here’s how it works …

Place your crepe face-down and put your filling in the center of it.  I was using what we call Nutella, a mix of melted semi-sweet chocolate and sunflower seed butter.  I spread it around as you can see, but depending on the consistency of your filling you might not want to do that.

Next fold in each side of the crepe, then the bottom and finally, the top.  I’m a wax bag user, so that’s how I packed the crepes.  If you use a wax bag too, just try not to pack it next to something that will make it wet like an ice pack (whoops).

Here’s what Lou Seibert Pappas tells us about Pancake Day in her book,

“In France, crepes are traditionally offered on Candlemas and Shrove Tuesday to celebrate renewal, family life, and hope for good fortune and happiness ahead.  It is customary to touch the handle of the frying pan and make a wish while the pancake is turned, holding a coin in the hand.”

In other Fat Tuesday news, I couldn’t believe my good fortune when I attended a volunteer meeting at school yesterday and one of the attendees (the PTA president, in fact, who is a Louisiana girl) brought in a real, honest-to-goodness King Cake from Haydel’s Bakery.  I wasted no time in expressing my sincere enthusiasm and appreciation and guess who got the first piece and the baby too.

2 comments

  1. sarabalough@gmail.com

    Now I’m going to be on the lookout for your sincere enthusiasm at every turn! I’ve never had King cake – – but i would love to try it in a sincerely enthusiastically way. Thank you for another wonderful post.

Leave a Reply

