My Material Life

St. Patrick’s Day 2013

Clockwise from top left:

Maybe this was overkill.  I thought I’d try a little food coloring in my recycled Irish bear snow globe.

I am totally judging this book by its cover; isn’t it beautiful?!  I could not resist buying it when I found it at Recycle Bookstore in Campbell last week (though this one is new).  I just started it last night.

A gift of Irish whiskey from our next-door neighbors. We enjoyed some in Irish coffee, but nice and smooth for sipping too.

Now this was interesting.  I found the recipe for this punch on an Amazon review for green Kool-Aid.  That’s right, an Amazon review.  I was there to order a case of lemon-lime Kool Aid to use for dying wool when I saw that many people had actually reviewed this product.  What can one say about a package of Kool-Aid?  Well there’s lots of nostalgia and comments about how hard it is to find this color (I mean flavor) and recipes, like the one you’ll find at the end of this post (kids loved it).

Kona cotton in Leprachaun with a Target runner on the table.

Maida Heatter’s Whole Wheat Honey Wafers.  Such lovely flavors of coffee, honey, ginger.  So good with coffee, beer or coffee in beer as described here where you will also find the recipe for the cookies.  Here’s the recipe for the green punch:

CHRISTMAS EVERGREEN PUNCH
2 pkgs. lemon lime unsweetened Kool-Aid mix
1 (48 oz.) can pineapple juice
2 c. sugar (I used 1-1/2 cups and we still thought it was too sweet, so we added some sparkling water at the end)
2 qts. water
1 qt. ginger ale

Combine all ingredients, except ginger ale; chill. Add ginger ale and ice just before serving. 50 servings.

Leave a Reply

