My Material Life

La Brea Tar Pit Chicken Wings

IMG_6629

This is a favorite dinner in our house; even the cat goes crazy when he smells these wings baking in the oven.  Having just visited the La Brea Tar Pits in Los Angeles last week, now seems like a good time to share this dinner idea with you.  I got the recipe for the wings (a reader contribution) from the February 1999 issue of Gourmet magazine.  The wings are baked in a sauce made from red wine, soy sauce, sugar and ginger.  I usually cut the recipe in half and shorten the second half of the baking time (once the wings are turned over) to twenty to thirty minutes.  At some point, I must have been out of red wine and substituted sherry.  That’s how I usually make them now.  Some time I’ll have to try the red wine again.  And I think I might try substituting sake too.

You can make the wings for an appetizer or turn them into dinner by serving them with rice, broccoli, and orange slices.  I like to eat my broccoli with a little dollop of Trader Joe’s Wasabi Mayonnaise because I read somewhere that something in horseradish makes the good stuff in broccoli even more accessible to your body.  And even if that’s not true, it tastes great.

You can find the recipe for the wings here.

Leave a Reply

