My Material Life

The Pulgas Water Temple

Do you know this place?  It’s enchanting, isn’t it?  These are camera shots from our visit today with our friends Jill and Annie.  If you’ve ever visited Filoli you were very near the temple.  I hadn’t thought about it for the longest time before reading Alexander McCall Smith’s 44 Scotland Street series this Summer; he makes a reference to St. Bernard’s Well in one of the books.  I had to look it up online and what I found reminded me of our local water temples – yes, we have more than one.  There’s another in Sunol.

I was always so curious about this temple.  I wanted to know who built it and why and it also made me wonder why we don’t seem to build public structures that inspire like this anymore.  Now Wikipedia is available to answer two of those questions, but not the last one.  Perhaps you could build your own temple or at least a suggestion of one.  I’m not sure which magazine I clipped this next image from, but it’s a lovely idea.

 

Leave a Reply

