My Material Life

Dream Machine: Tricotin Mecanique

For all you knitting nancy fans out there (toilet paper roll or otherwise), here is something to add to your collection. This is a mechanical French knitter from Bergere de France that is actually made in France. It’s a lot of fun to turn the crank and watch your knitted cord grow and grow and what beautiful cord it is! I’m still experimenting with it, but I can tell you it is essential to use the weight that’s included and to let it hang freely while you are turning the crank. I haven’t had success with every material I’ve tried, but these Rowan DK Handknit Cotton samples turned out very nicely. You can buy your own Tricotin Mecanique here.

Save

2 comments

    • Just tell me what you want to learn to do and we’ll do it! Do you think David would be interesting in knotting his own basketball net? I found that project in a book last summer and I kind of want to try it!

Leave a Reply

