My Material Life

Diamond Jubilee Embroidery

This is my way of commemorating Queen Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee – French DMC floss on a disassembled Target organic pillow case to be reassembled at some later date.  I know she’s not my queen, but I couldn’t resist, not after I rediscovered that gorgeous crown pattern in an old set of transfer patterns that once belonged to my mother-in-law, Darlene.  I figured it would be so much easier than knitting QE II and her corgis from the patterns in this book and of course, a pillow case is actually functional whereas a small knitted queen and her dogs is not (for most people, I presume).

Now this kind of embroidery doesn’t have to take a long time if you have your colors and stitches all worked out before you start.  I didn’t, so I ended up working these things out as I went along and the embroidery took a bit longer than I expected. I’m pretty happy with the results though.  I’m not even sure that I mind that the bottom line and banner seem to have drifted off-center from my initial sketch.

Moving from the top of the embroidery down, I used backstitch, chain stitch, french knots, satin stitch and outline stitch.  I used a silver metallic thread (polyester, DMC made in Belgium) for the interior and top of the crown.  I already mentioned that the crown inspired this embroidery, but so did my Royal Wedding Jan Constantine mug (see it here, along with a fantastic whole wheat cookie recipe).

I used a piece of tracing paper and a pencil to trace the crown onto the paper and then added writing and a banner.  Then I used some Dritz wax-free tracing paper between my fabric and my design on paper, and I went over the tracing paper design again with pencil to transfer the design from the yellow Dritz paper to the fabric.

I originally thought I might embroider two small crowns on either side of the large one, but I’m leaning against that now. Look how the crown sparkles in this photo …

One comment

  1. Anne Palmer Peterson

    Colleen, this is awesome! You are awesome! your blog inspires me, and keeps me smiling to see so much great creativity and craftiness being created! <3!

Leave a Reply

