My Material Life

Alice Medrich’s Real Chocolate Wafers

I’ve been meaning to make Alice Medrich’s real chocolate wafers from her Bittersweet book forever.  I’m not sure what took me so long.  They are just right.  First of all, they are a refrigerator cookie and I always say that having a good cookie dough in the fridge is like having money in the bank.  Secondly, well, they’re just so good and chocolatey, but after you eat two or three you don’t at all regret it or feel like you’ve over-indulged.  I usually don’t even feel like a sweet after dinner, but sometimes I want just a little something, you know?  These are perfect for that.  They make a bowl of lemon, strawberry, or raspberry sorbet feel like a real dessert.  You can find the recipe here, although the book doesn’t specify dark brown sugar; I used golden brown myself.  The dough can be refrigerated for up to 3 days or double-wrapped and frozen for up to 3 months.

Leave a Reply

