My Material Life

Shari’s BBQ Chicken Chopped Salad

My friend Shari shared this recipe with me one day last year or the year before; I had complete faith in her assurance that it would be a hit.  I made it that very night for dinner for a niece who was passing through and she ate at least two helpings. Last night I served it to another niece and her mom and dad and that niece ate two helpings too.  Shari was right. This is one tasty salad.  A very good dish for company (especially if you do the prep beforehand which I never seem to be able to do) and for hot weather.  Though the original recipe calls for assembling the salad before serving, I prefer to leave all the ingredients in separate dishes, so the eaters can compose their own salad.  I dress the salad a little differently than the original too, with ranch dressing and BBQ sauce instead of Brianna’s Chipotle Cheddar Dressing and BBQ sauce.  By all means, try the chipotle cheddar as well if you can find it.  I prefer the ranch and BBQ flavors together – a match made in heaven and something I never would have thought of combining on my own.  Here’s how I made last night’s salad:

BBQ Chicken Chopped Salad

Prepare:

  • 1 rotisserie chicken (chop)
  • 1 or more heads of romaine lettuce (chop – I used a bag of 3 hearts of romaine from Trader Joe’s)
  • cheddar and Monterey jack cheeses (grate)
  • 1 can black beans (drain and rinse)
  • 1 can corn (drain – Trader Joe’s has a good one)
  • fresh cilantro (chop)
  • tomatoes (dice)
  • green onions (slice)

Either combine above ingredients together in one large salad bowl or place each ingredient in separate bowls and let guests compose their own salad.  Offer ranch dressing (I really like the Toby’s brand from Whole Foods), BBQ sauce (we used KC Masterpiece last night), and crumbled tortilla chips (Trader Joe’s has an organic longboard chip that works well) to top the salad.

I might add avocado the next time I make this.  The original recipe calls for basil and jicama too.

One comment

Leave a Reply

