My Material Life

Easter Craft Experimentation: Decoupage Egg in Crochet Nest

I’m kind of surprised by how these two things complement each other because I didn’t originally have them in mind as partners.  The egg is one of those brown paper mache ones from the Phillipines that I found in a package of six at Michael’s. By the way, I’m switching my previous position on the spelling of the paper part – or maybe I’ll just go back and forth between paper and papier depending on my mood!  The decoration was inspired by the paper mache waste can I wrote about a few weeks ago, and the paper came from a magazine that I picked up from the Saratoga Library’s recycling bin. Magazine recycling, that is – I wouldn’t want you to think I go rummaging through the library’s garbage bins.  I cut out pieces I liked from the magazine and glued them to the egg with a little watered down white glue.  Then I gave the egg a couple more coats of watered down glue, letting it dry between each coat.  I kind of like it a lot; I’m just not sure what to do with it.  But I think that’s the joy of Christmas and Easter for me – the excuse to make purely decorative items.

The nest is an experiment in crocheting with hemp cord.  Again, this is a material I picked up at Michael’s. The pattern comes from the August 2011 issue of Burda Style magazine.  I was surprised to see it there because I think of Burda Style as a sewing pattern publication.  They had a good article on crochet flowers too.  I wish I could find it online for you, but no luck so far.  It’s quite late and I’m very worn out with Easter preparations.  Here’s what I’ve been up to most recently…

Leave a Reply

