My Material Life

Sedgemoor Biscuits (Plus New IKEA Textiles!)

I found this recipe in the New York Times a few years ago and finally got around to it today.  Have you heard of these?  They come from England; I’ve also seen them referred to as Easter biscuits or Garibaldi biscuits.  They are really nice. Wonderful with coffee.  Apparently the tradition was to give them as gifts on Easter Sunday, tied with ribbon in bundles of three.  You can find the recipe I used here.  The two changes I made were to 1) reduce the amount of currants by 1/4 cup and replace those with 1/4 cup chopped candied orange peel and 2) skip the sugar glaze.

It’s a charming pink gingham the biscuits are sitting on, isn’t it?  That’s my favorite new IKEA fabric.  Such a great pink, a tiny bit of salmon color to it – very easy on the eye.  The bud vases are a recent Target purchase.  They sell them four to a package.  I bought two packages.  They’d be so fun to use down the length of the table.

I love this IKEA fabric as well.  I read about this napkin project on the blog, Chocolate & Zucchini.  When I saw this print, it screamed NAPKIN at me, so I found another IKEA fabric that I’d purchased last year and stitched them up together.  Not the best pairing perhaps, but I certainly didn’t want to go out and buy any more fabric.  I’ll save that for the next napkin I make. I must say, this is a simple and very good-looking way to do it.

I found some other great things on a quick trip to the East Palo Alto store yesterday.  A very lovely cotton pink knit throw and cotton table runners with roses from India.  (I’d actually already purchased these; three in fact – for running across the table crosswise.)  I also fell for these glass mugs from France.  Nicely proportioned, feel very good in the hand, and did I mention – they’re from France!  You can see them here, and here, and here.  Unfortunately, none of these things look as good in the photos as they do in person.

And before I go, I’ll direct you to this link in case you need something else that’s sweet to make for Easter. Nothing says Easter like meringue and these are both meringue recipes that are delicious and reliable and so pretty on your table.

Leave a Reply

