My Material Life

Movie Suggestions for a Rainy Day

Source: The Daily Lindsey

I don’t know what the weather’s like where you are, but around here, it’s been unseasonably sunny and dry.  Yesterday some clouds rolled in and that’s such a good thing not only because we need the rain, but because my January ennui just doesn’t feel right with so much sunshine!  I was beginning to think we might go an entire winter without dark clouds and rain.  And there’s nothing better for a rainy day than a favorite old movie.  I’ve got three to recommend:  they are all movies I’ve enjoyed this time of year, and they are all romantic comedies of the middle-aged variety.  I don’t know why, but even when I was young I preferred a good middle-aged romance to a more youthful one – the universal appeal of a second chance, perhaps?  Two of them have awesome interiors as well.  Just click on the movie title for more information about the films.

Desk Set
That’s a photo from Desk Set above.  Katherine Hepburn heads up a reference department for a major studio or network or something and Spencer Tracy is brought in as an efficiency expert.  I not only fell in love with Katherine’s apartment after seeing this movie (look how cozy she and Spencer are eating their fried chicken and floating island in her beautiful living room), I also wanted to go work with her!  One of my all-time favorite movies.

Indiscreet

Source: Quite Continental

Just look at Ingrid’s living room!  Need I say more?  Yes, you have both Ingrid Bergman and Cary Grant together, but to me the star of this film is that room. Those colors!  The art on the walls!  Also, one night Ingrid steps out in a fantastic matching coat and dress that will forever be imprinted on my brain as the epitome of elegance and style.

With Six You Get Eggroll

Source: dorisday.net

I’ve read some disparaging remarks about this movie in the past, but I tell you I adore it.  Always have, always will.  You know I don’t think Brian Keith is exactly my cup of tea, but boy he sure does have some chemistry with Doris in this movie. (Come to think of it, he’s also got it with Maureen O’Hara in the original Parent Trap.)  The supermarket scene is my favorite.  Their romance is very believable and really sweet and funny and yes, there are some crazy things that happen towards the end, but what can I say?  They just don’t make ’em like they used to.

Leave a Reply

