My Material Life

Kind Hearts and Coronets

That’s hearts as in artichoke hearts.  I don’t think I ever did see that old British film (although it’s right up my alley), but I’ve always loved that title – the way those four words sound together.  I have two really delicious things I made and ate yesterday that I want to share with you.  Somehow this film title came to me as a way to connect them.

Yesterday, we had a little cookie baking and decorating session for a few of Samantha’s friends and I invited the moms to stay for a quick glass of wine when they came to pick up their girls.  I wanted to have something to feed them, so I made a Southern recipe I’d clipped from issue No. 42 of Saveur Magazine.

This artichoke dip is one of my very favorite recipes.  It is the perfect dish for a women and wine-type get together because women love this dip – myself included.  It is so easy (just 4 ingredients!) and so, so yummy.  All you need are 2 15-ounce cans of artichoke hearts (I prefer the ones from Trader Joe’s), 1 cup of grated parmesan cheese, 1 cup of mayonnaise, and minced onions to taste (I use about 2 tablespoons and I’ve substituted garlic as well).  Mix it all up and bake (I use a small souffle dish) until bubbly and lightly browned in a 350 degrees oven. Serve with assorted crackers or sliced baguette.

Once everyone left I decorated some extra cookies just for me that were cut with my favorite crown (coronet) cookie cutter.  The cookie recipe is one I’ve shared before on this blog, but’s what different this time are the “elegant cocoa pearls” sprinkled on top.  I found just one bottle of this “all natural cake decoration” from South Africa in the spice section of the Los Gatos Trader Joe’s.  I hope they get more of these in because they are wonderful – not very sweet, but a delicious cocoa taste and a gentle crunch that is fantastic with the cookie and frosting.

Leave a Reply

