My Material Life

The Momofuku Milk Bar Compost Cookie

My sister introduced me to the recipe for this cookie from Christina Tosi well over a year ago (you can read more about her – Ms. Tosi that is, not my sister – in this NY Times article from May).  I was intrigued at the time, but didn’t feel compelled to actually try the recipe until yesterday.  This is another of those sweet and salty combinations that have been so popular in the last few years.  But in the case of this cookie, it’s not just salt crystals that account for the saltiness – it’s the inclusion of actual salty snack food (potato chips, crackers, corn chips) in the cookie dough along with the more usual suspects like chocolate chips, raisins, etc.

I used the recipe here.  I followed a suggestion from one of the comments on the recipe to beat for 5 minutes instead of 10 where that is indicated, and I refrigerated the dough for two hours before baking.  The texture was great, but next time I would probably reduce the salt to 1/2 teaspoon because these were really on the salty side and 1 teaspoon of Kosher salt is a lot for this amount of dough (this recipe is halved) especially with those salty snacks in there too.  I had a taste for potato chips and original Pepperidge Farm Goldfish crackers (not the cheese kind), so I used those.  They both added a nice bite, but I’m not sure you would know what they were if you didn’t put them in the dough yourself.  Next time I get a taste for these I’m going to try corn chips.  A very fun and satisfying cookie.

Update:  Just in time for Halloween.  The October issue of Food & Wine included several Christina Tosi recipes that make use of leftover Halloween candy, like candy corn and chocolate chip cookies.  Look up the recipes here.

2 comments

  1. Kathie

    So glad you liked these! My best results were with pretzels (I didn’t add any other salt) , goldfish crackers (I put them in whole), and butterscotch and white chocolate chips. Chilling the dough is really important with this cookie because the cookies tend to flatten out when baked.

    Another recipe you might want from Momofuku Milk Bar is their Crack Pie. I found it on the internet after hearing Anderson Cooper rave about it – delicious!

  2. Oh yes, now I remember you telling me about those things. Pretzels would be good; they’d hold up really well and everything is better with butterscotch chips. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

