My Material Life

Grandpa’s Whiskey Sour

My paternal grandfather was born on September 23, 1897.  His name was Art and so was my dad’s.  He lived in Chicago and I lived in California, so I never got to know him very well (he died in 1977), but I always kind of liked that we shared the same birthday.  There are a few things about him that stick out in my mind:  he was a housepainter, he used to call people “kid”, and he was well-known for his whiskey sours and blueberry muffins.  Seeing some old photos of him recently made me want to remember our birthday connection, so I decided to make a batch of his whiskey sours yesterday to celebrate the day. They were very good – a little sweet, but I liked them a lot with the fried chicken wings I made last night.

That’s my grandpa sitting on the ground at my parent’s wedding in 1954.  He seems like a fun guy, doesn’t he?  I really love this next photo too.  I don’t know who the fellow on the right is, but the one on the left is Art again.  We read the book Mr. Popper’s Penguins last spring so when I saw this photo recently I couldn’t help but think that here was my own Mr. Popper or perhaps a personal patron saint of housepainting.

Here is Art’s recipe for whiskey sours as my mom wrote it.  I don’t know if he used cherries in his sours, but I think they are a must.  Did you know that you can find maraschino cherries made with natural food coloring?  Tillen Farms and The Silver Palate both make them.

2 comments

  1. Anne Palmer Peterson

    This is so cool what you did–love the history and time going back, fam heritage! They look and sound yummy! Now, how about a sampling and some pims to boot? 😉 xo

Leave a Reply

