My Material Life

Blueberry Crumb Bars

I made these today for an informal afternoon tea.  They are quite good.  Almost like eating blueberry pie out of your hand, but maybe even better than that.  I clipped the recipe from Bon Appetite magazine a couple of years ago; they were from an article on bar cookies.  The link above will take you to the recipe.  It calls for almonds in the topping, but I omitted them. I’d also like to try the gingerbread bars from the same article.  They’re described as a cross between a cookie and a cake and are also suggested for ice cream sandwiches.  The article was by Lisa Zwirn, the author of Christmas Cookies: 50 Recipes to Treasure for the Holiday Season.  I’m really glad I tried her blueberry bars; they make a great addition to anyone’s summer fruit dessert repertoire.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

