My Material Life

Jack’s Vegetable Tart

I made this tart for dinner last night.  Like many things we cook, it actually tastes better reheated the next day.  I used to get a tart like this at Jack’s Deli in Westlake Village, so that’s why I call it Jack’s Vegetable Tart.  I never knew Jack, but I always loved his deli (restaurant) and I have such fond memories of eating there with various family members.  Have you heard the latest Kaiser Permanente radio ad about food, scent and memory?  I love that spot; it is so well done that it made me teary while I was driving the other day.  Perhaps that’s what made me think of the Jack I never knew and this tart. Happily, it looks like Jack’s is still in business and we are planning a stop there during an upcoming Southern California trip.

To make a tart like this you’ll need:

1 single pie crust (I used a frozen whole wheat one; if you want to make your own you could try this recipe, but be sure to tell me how it turns out.)
some butter
some shallots
1 potato
1 zucchini
2 carrots
some parmesan cheese
3 eggs
enough milk to make 1 cup when added to eggs
nutmeg (optional)

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Chop your shallots (or garlic or onion for that matter) and cut your vegetables to your liking.  Saute the shallots with some butter in a pan, then add the other vegetables and saute until they start to soften (about 10 minutes).

Transfer the vegetables to the pie crust, generously salt and pepper them, and grate some parmesan cheese on top.  Whisk your eggs with the milk and pour over the vegetables and cheese.  Top with grated nutmeg if desired.  Turn oven down to 375 degrees and bake for 30 to 35 minutes.  Enjoy with cold glass of chardonnay.

Leave a Reply

