My Material Life

Rose Bakery Oat and Coconut Cookies

This is the kind of cookie you can serve for breakfast and not feel guilty about, and it tastes delicious.  It’s another cookie from the Rose Bakery in Paris; I make it more than any other cookie lately.  You make them with whole wheat flour, oatmeal, coconut and brown sugar – a very tasty combination.  I also add some chopped chocolate to make them more appealing to my daughter.  I can’t decide which way I like the cookies better, with or without chocolate they are yummy.

These cookies are based on Australian Anzac biscuits.  ANZAC is an acronym for the Australian and New Zealand Army Corp of World War I.  It is thought that the biscuits were a popular item to send to the soldiers because they kept well. From what I can tell, most Anzac biscuits are thin.  These cookies (the way I make them anyway) are shaped more like mounds. There is some alchemy that occurs with the golden or corn syrup (golden is apparently best, but you’d probably have to order some or pay a fortune for it), baking soda and hot water.  I don’t know how it works, but it definitely influences the texture.  Do note that I don’t find the following recipe gives the dough enough moisture to hold together. My solution is to add some safflower oil (3 tablespoons or so) to the butter when I melt it. You might try adding some water to the dough instead.  In fact, I think I’ll try that myself next time.  Here is the recipe:

Rose Bakery Oat and Coconut Cookies
Makes about 24 cookies

  • Generous 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 cup wholewheat flour
  • Generous 1 cup dried coconut (unsweetened)
  • Scant 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tablespoon golden syrup or light corn syrup
  • 1/2 teaspooon baking soda

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.
Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
Put all dry ingredients except the baking soda in a bowl and mix well.
Put the butter and syrup in a saucepan and cook over low heat, stirring, until the butter has melted.
Mix the baking soda with 2 tablespoons boiling water and add to the butter and syrup.  Pour this over the dry ingredients and bring them together to form a dough.
Break off pieces and shape them into 1 1/4″ balls.
Place well apart on the prepared sheet and bake for about 15 minutes until golden.  Do not overbake as the cookies must be slightly chewy.
Cool.

2 comments

  1. Nami

    These are very easy and healthy .
    I almost bake it all the time.
    I use low carbohydrate sugar for half cup and coconut sugar .

Leave a Reply

