My Material Life

Ms. Paltrow’s Poultry Recipe

Recently I read an article on the internet that said that rinsing raw chicken wouldn’t remove bacteria and really only presented the risk of contaminating other surfaces in your kitchen.  I can’t find that article now and I’m not sure of its source (I could have sworn it was Gourmet), but no matter.  Seeing it in print (pixel?) was good enough for me.  I’ve always hated rinsing my chicken and the associated surfaces to clean up.  Good riddance I say.

I ran across this recipe for a rotisserie-style roast chicken from Gwyneth Paltrow courtesy of Self Magazine shortly after realizing I was free of that unpleasant task, so I gave it a try and I have to say it’s quite good.  I was intrigued by the manual turning of the bird on it’s various sides during cooking.  I also love paprika on my roast chicken, so that was appealing.  Not a big mess in the oven either.  That Gwyneth Paltrow – is there anything she’s not good at?

I have a couple of notes on the recipe which you can find by clicking here.  I didn’t have garlic salt, so I used minced garlic and salt.  I also didn’t bother to use twine to do any tying or trussing as I think it’s called.  To me that’s just another messy situation that I can’t see the point of.  But I can see how it might be fun for some people.

2 comments

  1. Janice

    I am a chicken-flipper myself, we do side, side, breast up per the Cook’s Illustrated method. And I’m glad to hear about the elimination of the rinsing, which will minimize my “poultry purification ritual” of the entire kitchen island after the bird is in the oven. Maybe the kitchen will smell like roasting chicken instead of Fantastik!!

Leave a Reply

