My Material Life

Wire Crochet Beaded Handbag

Did you ever read the book Mrs. ‘Arris Goes to Paris by Paul Gallico?  I discovered that book (and one of my favorite authors ever) many years ago in an inn with no television on an island off the coast of Maine.  In it, a London charwoman (cleaning lady) sets her sights on a Dior gown and carries out a plan to acquire it.  It doesn’t really suit her lifestyle – it’s the sheer beauty of the thing that motivates her:  “it’s the most beautiful thing I’ve ever laid me eyes on and I mean to ’ave it.”   Well I had a similar experience yesterday afternoon at the Saratoga Rotary Art Show at West Valley College, a family tradition of ours.  I fell madly in love with the evening bag pictured above.  For me, it is perfection in form, color, texture, pattern, and craftmanship.  So I brought it home.  I’m not much in need of an evening bag, but I’m willing to try.  And it will make a lovely inheritance for Samantha some day which is only fair as she is the one who wanted to look at the booth with the jewelry where I discovered the bag.

Lisa Toland crafts the most lovely and amazing things (jewelry, bags, hair accessories).  She refers to her wire crochet as “wire lace”.  It really is both wonderfully vintage and completely modern at the same time.  Click here to visit her website. I’ve never tried to crochet with wire – have you?

7 comments

  1. I’ve never tried wire crochet, myself, but I enjoy wire crocheted jewelry. I’ve never seen anyone make a purse like this before! SO incredibly unique. Thank you for sharing. I hope you’re enjoying the new handbag 🙂

    • Thanks for writing, Bella. You’ll enjoy looking at Lisa Toland’s website; I couldn’t believe it when I found that bag! I haven’t actually used it yet, so I’ll have to come up with an occasion. I haven’t tried wire crochet either and I think one thing that stops me is knowing how important the feel of the yarn is when I’m knitting or crocheting. I guess it seems like it would be painful!
      Colleen

      • I hear ya! I crochet with yarn and have though the wire seems painful, too. LOL I hear it’s not, so maybe I should give it a go. Lisa’s website is amazing. I’m so happy to know about her!

Leave a Reply

