My Material Life

May Flowers

Samantha painted this flower for me yesterday – isn’t it beautiful?  Now take a look at these beauties . . .

These are gift bags that I found at the Cost Plus World Market last week.  Seeing them on the display rack just kind of stopped me in my tracks and I went a little crazy!  They are decorated with silk screen prints on paper made from recycled cotton fabric remnants.  The funny thing is I had just picked up a new book at the library called Handmade in India, A Geographic Encyclopedia of Indian Handicrafts.  Did you know that they actually have a Minister of Textiles in India?  That’s my kind of government.  I wondered if I would be able to find the gift bag source in the book and sure enough, I think I did.

This is a wonderful, well-organized, comprehensive, and rather large book.  I was easily able to look up paper crafts and trace this kind of paper to Jaipur, a semi-arid land that lies on the eastern fringes of the Thar Desert.  The Kagzi (a community that traditionally specialized in making paper) settled in the area in the 16th century.  See the bag in the lower left corner?  I thought it looked familiar, so I dug up a catalog clipping from last year.  I saved it for inspiration because I love the colors and the paper design.

It does look familiar, doesn’t it?  I guess I’m not the only one who was inspired by this design.  But you never know where these things really begin do you? Anyway, the bags are gorgeous and just perfect for mother’s day or showers or whatever spring and summer occasions you might have coming up.  Speaking of spring occasions, that was one heck of a royal wedding, wasn’t it?  I immediately fell in love with Kate’s dress because it reminded me of my mother’s.  She paid $60 for hers in 1954.  You can see a partial photo of it by clicking here.

Happy May Day!

5 comments

  1. Kathie

    Love the flower. I hope you framed it! I had my Book Group over today, and they admired her butterflies that she painted for me – She does have talent in the Arts – Hmmm… I wonder where she gets that from??

  2. Kathie

    Love the flower. I hope you framed it! I had my Book Group over today, and they admired her butterflies that she painted for me – She does have talent in the Arts – Hmmm… I wonder where she gets that from??

    And Mom’s dress – I almost called you – I thought immediately of her dress when I saw Kate’s wedding dress! But I also loved her sister Pippa’s dress – wasn’t it elegant?

Leave a Reply

