My Material Life

Neat Fried Egg Trick

We accompanied a young friend on her 4-H chicken duty at a nearby ranch earlier in the week and thanks to her and her gracious mother, we were allowed to keep all the eggs that were laid that day.  The little chicken above is actually sitting on duck eggs, but some of her larger neighbors did lay their own eggs and those are the ones we brought home.  I just thought she looked so pretty sitting there with those lovely blue walls around her – I had to take her picture.  And I do have something egg-related to share with you.  Like Korova cookies, this trick has been written about before.  It comes from Lucinda Scala Quinn, but I think I first read about it in the Angry Chicken blog (which really doesn’t have anything to do with chickens as far as I can tell, except for sharing this fried egg recipe).

I love eggs and I’ve always loved the idea of fried eggs, but mine used to be a mess, and I could never get both the white and the yolk cooked the way I wanted them cooked.  But with this trick, my fried eggs are perfect every time.  The secret is to add a little water to the pan, cover it, and let the eggs steam a bit.  Try it. You’ll like it.  You might even pair these eggs with the Trader Joe’s refrigerator cinnamon rolls for a really yummy weekend breakfast.

Lucinda Scala Quinn’s Perfect Fried Egg
(from the Martha Stewart website – L.S.Q. is part of Martha’s empire)

 

  • 1/2 teaspoon unsalted butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon water
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Heat a small cast-iron or nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the butter and swirl it to coat the skillet.  Immediately crack the egg into the skillet.  Add the water to the pan, reduce the heat to medium low, cover, and cook for 1 minute. Remove the egg from the pan immediately.  Season to taste with salt and pepper and serve.

Leave a Reply

