My Material Life

Best Under $5 Bubbly – St. Patrick’s Day Style

When we hit on this idea three years ago, Dwight and I couldn’t believe that we’d never thought of it sooner.  Sparkling wine is the alcoholic beverage of choice for both of us, so it just makes sense.  I only wish there was a natural food coloring I could use that would match that green.  But this is not something you do every day, so I try not to worry about a drop or two once a year.  And isn’t the color beautiful? What’s really fun is to watch the bubbles swirl the dye around until it all becomes a uniform shade of emerald.  Very cool.

The bubbly (hardly under $5 at $4.99, but still a great bargain) comes from Trader Joe’s by way of Germany.  Schloss Biebrich Sekt is what it’s called and I’ve been buying it since it was more like $3.99 and I heard some ladies in front of me in line raving about it at the check-out counter.  I like it because it’s consistent, not too sweet or too dry, and it tastes fresh and crisp with good bubbles.  And of course, there is that price.

My brother-in-law Dean sent out this great old Irish blessing in an email today.  I can see it hanging on the wall in my mother’s kitchen:

May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face,
and rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

And then there is this one from her Irish coffee mugs:

May you be in heaven a half-hour before the devil knows you’re dead.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Leave a Reply

