My Material Life

Stay Young & Beautiful Soba Noodle Salad

This recipe was published in Women’s Health magazine a little over two years ago.  They call it Sesame Soba Noodle Salad, but I like the name above better because it was published in an article about the health and beauty benefits of Japanese food and the only sesame ingredient is sesame oil which is key to the flavor I’ll admit, but a little misleading if you ask me.  I remembered this recipe last month when I agreed to provide a dish for the staff luncheon at Samantha’s school.  I wanted something tasty that I could prepare the night before and not have to worry about how to get it to school hot or how someone else would reheat it.  This dish fit the bill (it’s meant to be eaten cold or at room temperature) and it’s also very nutritious and pretty easy to put together.

You’ll find the article here along with a link to the recipes.  The article states that the soba noodles are gluten free, but most of the soba noodles you find in the stores are actually a combination of wheat and buckwheat.  I know that Whole Foods carries a 100% buckwheat version, but it is expensive!  I wonder if I could find them for less in an Asian market.  Another thing to note is that I’ve always used toasted sesame oil in this dish (I love the flavor), but the recipe simply calls for sesame oil.  I also don’t add quite as much red pepper or salt (it already has miso and soy sauce after all).  A very satisfying combination of flavors, colors and textures.  I hope you’ll give it a try.

Leave a Reply

