My Material Life

Bulky Baby Blankie

I finally finished and delivered this blanket to my friend Erin whose new baby boy is now three weeks old. Not that there was any hurry.  The gal who designed this blanket had the idea that it would make a good baby floor mat and the little guy I met today is nowhere near ready for that!  Still, I procrastinate.  I finished most of the knitting on Thanksgiving weekend and waited until the weekend before I was set to deliver a meal to the new parents to finish the border.  I must say I love the design of the border.  It is picked up around the edge of the blanket and knit in the round in stockinette stitch with one purl row in the middle that forms the fold edge of the border.  The last row is simultaneously attached to the other side of the blanket and bound off, forming a neat double-knit edge that is very cushy. Well, mostly neat.  A few of my picked-up stitches went wonky, but I have concealed that in the photo.  I have to remember that it’s not so much where you pick up your stitches that is important, but that you are consistent about going to that same place for all of them to get an even edge.

This blanket design comes from The Purl Bee.  I used the same yarn suggested for the project, Spud and Chloe Outer and Spud and Chloe Sweater, both a combination of superwash wool and organic cotton.  You can purchase both of these at Green Planet Yarns in Campbell.  The yarns and the needles you’ll use are so thick that the blanket is actually very quick to knit.  Expensive though! If I ever do this one again, I might see about using something like a Sugar ‘n Cream or a Peaches & Creme; it is intended for the floor after all and will probably need quite a bit of washing.  You’ll also need two different sizes of circular needles.  My friends who knit and I are constantly surprised that we still need to buy more and more needles in different sizes, even with the large collections we’ve already developed!

Leave a Reply

