My Material Life

She Gets Ideas . . .

Thank goodness for Fergie and The Black Eyed Peas.  Samantha was very inspired by her fashion sense and performance during Sunday’s half-time show, so she got out her paper and proceeded to turn out six different dress designs for her and her friends to wear in their own show.  I say thank goodness because I like this idea better than her last – to hold a car wash with her friends to pay for a jumpy house for her birthday party.  She got as far as calling her friend Annie about it before I assured Annie’s mom that I had nothing to do with this and do not condone car washes run by six and seven-year-olds.  Nor do I condone Fergie-esque performances by six and seven-year-olds, but I sure do love the dress sketches.  I was thinking we should turn one into an actual garment.  When I was a girl, lots of us had this poster of a beautiful ballet dancer with the caption, If you can dream it, you can achieve it.  Is that right?  Do any of you remember that poster?  Anyway, my message for Samantha (and anyone who reads this blog, actually) is this –

If you can dream it, you can make it!

4 comments

  1. I love the dress sketches too. Maybe Samantha will be the new Edith Head. And maybe she too will get 8 Academy Awards for costume design. (This shows how old I am since the first designer who came to mind was Edith Head!! I do like all those old movies with all the stars in dresses that Edith created. Audrey Hepburn in Roman Holiday, Sabrina & Funny Face. Also, Grace Kelley in Rear Window and To Catch a Thief……and many more movies and stars.)

    • Grace Kelley in her first scene in Rear Window! What a dress! And then in that blue dress in To Catch a Thief – a vision of heaven! I haven’t watched my old movies in so long, but the other week on a rainy Sunday we watched the original Parent Trap and one of my all-time favorite 60s movies, With Six You Get Eggroll. Maureen O’Hara and Doris Day sure had some chemistry with Brian Keith!

  2. Kathie

    This is so cute! I wonder where she gets her creative streak? Hmmm… I just love the reasoning of first graders! My favorite people in the world! And yes, I know that will come back to haunt me when she’s in second grade – but after 30 years of working with those little people, what can I say? I’m actually off to school now to help with some grief counseling – I assume you’ve heard the news about our wonderful school and community. I am just coming out of shock mode and hoping to begin healing and get through the rest of the year . I”ll talk to you soon –

Leave a Reply

