My Material Life

A Little European Culture: Isabelle de Borchgrave & Euromaxx

I have a confession to make:  I recently started following The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills.  I’m not even sure how it happened, but there it is.  I guess I just find them (and their marriages) kind of entertaining or at least strangely interesting.  Look at Lisa with her “permanent houseguest”, Cedric.  That’s just straight out of My Man Godfrey. Remember Carol Lombard’s mother and her “protege”, Carlo?  Was that his name?  I haven’t seen the finale yet, but I sure hope they sign up for another season.

For something a bit more high brow, look what’s coming to the Legion of Honor in San Francisco on February 5.  See that costume in the photo from the Legion above?  That’s made out of paper!  I can’t wait to see the exhibit of Belgian artist Isabelle de Borchgrave’s work – her first solo exhibit in the United States.  You can see a short video about her here at the Euromaxx website.  Do you know the TV show Euromaxx?  I love it; it saves me from watching too much trashy American television.  I record it and catch up on it when I can.  It’s a daily show (26 minutes long) produced in Germany (in English) with news on European arts, travel, food, culture – all that good stuff.  We find it on KMTP Channel 32.  The funny thing is I’d already decided to tell you about these two topics together before I went to the Euromaxx site and found the video on Isabelle de Borchgrave.  I’m sure that episode is waiting for me on my DVR.  Do take a look.

Leave a Reply

