My Material Life

Merry Midwinter

From Winter Story by Jill Barklem

I’m not sure why the winter solstice is also referred to as midwinter when it’s just the beginning of the season, but that’s the holiday that the creatures of Brambly Hedge celebrate this time of year. My county library has two of Jill Barklem’s Brambly Hedge books with a midwinter theme: Winter Story and The Secret Staircase. I recommend them both, but I’m particularly fond of The Secret Staircase because it reminds me of my favorite kind of dreams – the ones where I discover a whole new wing of my house that I never knew existed or that I forgot was there. Do you ever have those? Wishing you a cozy winter.

img_5918.jpg

Save

Leave a Reply

