My Material Life

Peppermint Snowball Soaps

These aren’t at all what I had in mind. I was trying to mold soap, but in a candy mold, and instead of tracking down the special melt and pour soap for crafting, I thought I could get by with one of those uncolored, unscented glycerin bars you can find at places like Whole Foods. Well, I thought wrong. I cut up the soap (about an inch square), put it into a glass measuring cup and tried to melt it in the microwave – about 30 seconds at a time.  It just wouldn’t liquify. But it did start to fluff up into something that reminded me of snow (or at least the wax we used to whip up for candle-making way back when) and it changed from transparent to opaque. So I scrapped my idea to use the molds and instead I added a few drops of peppermint essential oil, stirred it up a bit (something disposable is a good idea for this) and then used my bare hands to shape some snowballs. That worked out pretty well until I found a real hot spot of soap snow. That was extremely painful. So if you want to try something like this, do not involve the kids and be careful to let the soap cool a bit before you try to shape it. If you have some kind of glove that won’t melt from the hot soap, you might give it a try. Then again, you may have no desire to go messing around with hot soap and I cannot fault you for that. But these are fun and pretty and they smell great.

Save

2 comments

  1. Janice

    I was laughing until the part where you got burned – ouch!! It reminds me of a Science project from preschool, Ivory soap flakes, a microwave, it’s all a bit fuzzy now. Next time, buy the proper supplies, please!!

  2. Not to worry, Janice – no lasting damage! Nothing that a lot of cold water couldn’t take care of. I do want to get the melt and pour soap for the molds, but I think I’m going to have to try this again too because it was fun and pretty cool. But I’ll be more careful next time!

Leave a Reply

