My Material Life

Easy Peasy Double Squeezy* Chicken (or Turkey) Sloppy Joes

Isn’t it funny how some dishes just fall out of your rotation – for no particular reason? That’s the case with sloppy joes for me. Used to love them. Had a recipe from a Gourmet Magazine reader that I used pretty regularly, but somehow I seemed to forget about sloppy joes – until now that is. I’m glad I remembered them because they’re such a perfect weekday dinner for fall.

My old recipe used ketchup as the tomato base, but tonight I thought I’d use tomato sauce instead and make up the rest. I cooked 1 lb. of ground chicken thighs in a tablespoon or two of olive oil with two smashed cloves of garlic. Then I added an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce, about 1-1/2 teaspoons of dijon mustard (I like Annie’s brand), a tablespoon or so of dark brown sugar, and about another tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce. I let it simmer and served it on buns (I like Rudi’s Organic Wheat) warmed in a 250 degree oven. Comforting, tasty, quick and very child-friendly.

* Apparently, the phrase is really something like, easy peasy lemon squeezy (from an old British detergent ad according to my internet sources), but for some reason we say double squeezy around here.

Save

Save

2 comments

  1. Good morning, Colleen. Thanks for the Sloppy Joe recipe. Quite honestly, I can’t remember the last time I had one, but I will have to put it in the rotation. And, thanks for using our Rudi’s Organic Buns. You’re no sucker. In a recent taste test, Good Housekeeping Research Institute’s Test Kitchen awarded our buns top honors. 🙂 Thanks again!

    -Paula, on behalf of Rudi’s Organic Bakery

Leave a Reply

