My Material Life

Happy Halloween!

I’m not one of those people who remembers a lot from childhood, but I do remember loving the excitement of this time of year. The chill in the air, the falling leaves and those big yellow moons that seemed so perfect for a witch on her broomstick to fly across. But then I grew up in Southern California, so maybe it was mostly the idea of those things I was excited about. Anyway, this year I felt compelled to revisit that imagery with this felt composition. It’s so fun to create your own felt boards. I used the inexpensive, recycled soda bottle kind of felt which is great for experimentation. It can be a little shiny, which is not something you expect (or typically desire) from felt. I love real wool felt, but it’s so expensive.

The other day I remembered something else about Halloween while I was browsing the candy aisle at Target. We used to use pillowcases to collect our candy haul! I remembered this because they were selling Halloween M&Ms pillowcases. Ours were real of course and our mothers didn’t seem to mind. I don’t think many moms were concerned with thread-counts and such in those days. Such an interesting idea – I wonder how it started? Pillowcases were certainly more malleable and easier to run around with than brown paper bags!

Back to modern times, look at this fun little pumpkin-type plant material I found at the farmer’s market this morning.  Wish I could tell you what it’s called, but I forgot to ask!  I do know that the ceramics are by Heath. Have fun on Halloween!

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

