My Material Life

Anniversary Cross Stitch

Years ago Lucky or Albertson’s used the advertising slogan, since we’re neighbors, let’s be friends.  My husband and I adapted that to the saying above and since Monday was our anniversary, I thought I’d try to record it for posterity in embroidery. Cross stitch doesn’t usually appeal to me, but I do appreciate it for working with type because it’s so crisp. This is my first try at it and I must say I’m pleased (even though I used wildly different spacing between words in the first and third lines).  I used aida cloth and found some helpful tips for working with that here.  I’d love to try this on linen some time (like this one), but I do think the aida cloth is easier for a beginner.   The alphabet chart came from a free online pattern I found here. Originally, I thought I’d use this on a pillow, but I might just frame it.  What saying would you embroider?

Leave a Reply

