My Material Life

Have Cake, Will Travel

Most people with severe peanut and/or nut allergies steer clear of any baked goods without an ingredient label and some kind of manufacturing statement because bakeries are such a huge risk for peanut and nut contamination.  That means you don’t eat the cake that’s served at parties – like Saturday’s cake at the wedding we attended (which looked like a stack of storybooks and tasted delicious).  So whenever my daughter, who is severely allergic to peanuts, attends a party where cake is served, we bring our own.  But what I really wanted to tell you about is the great little container in the photo above that we used to carry her cake to the wedding.  I usually use a plastic storage container, but I had some of these in a drawer and using such a cute little box just made bringing her own cake so much more festive that I think I’ll use these from now on.  They’re from the Container Store, are made in the U.S.A. and cost 89 cents.  What a fantastic little package!  Imagine the possibilities for gifts. Also, I cheated on her cake this time and used a mix – Trader Joe’s chocolate cake mix.  It was very good and of course, saved me some time.  It doesn’t contain all the nasty chemicals in the standard mixes, so it will definitely come in handy around here.

Leave a Reply

