My Material Life

Weekend in Wine Land

Aren’t swans the most amazing creatures?  I could stare at them or take photographs of them for hours.  These two live at the Embassy Suites in Napa. This particular shot reminds me of a decoration my Mom made when my sister got married.  Her reception was held at our community pool and my mom took a styrofoam slab and floated it in the pool with these two swans (not real ones of course) facing each other in the shape of a heart.  It was so Celia.

I’ve never been so excited about an Embassy Suites before, but this one in Napa is something else.  It reminded me of a combination of Gilroy Gardens and the dining room at the old Brookdale Lodge in the Santa Cruz mountains.  We were there for a family reunion on my husband’s side.  My daughter loved that she had both an indoor and an outdoor pool to choose from.  I loved the grounds and the breakfasts and the fact that we didn’t have to pay for our room (thanks to someone’s Hilton points)!  I think it is pretty pricey otherwise.

Did you ever see the classic I Love Lucy episode where Lucy stomps grapes in Italy?  I told my daughter about it before our trip and she thought that sounded like a great idea, but I didn’t think she’d actually be able to do it.  Luckily, I was wrong.  Grgich Hills currently offers grape stomping until all of the grapes are picked (usually the end of October) for $10.

Leave a Reply

